Male Gerenuk Beauty Shot

No doubt this is the best photo I’ve taken of a male gerenuk. Sometimes you just get lucky & it all comes together.

I thought I’d add a comment here. This shot was taken with my Fuji X-E1 55-200mm F/3.5-4.8. I’m at least 65-80 feet away from the gerenuk. Because of that I’m heavily cropping the original image to achieve a pleasing composition. In an ideal world I’d full frame the shot and compose in the viewfinder, producing a high quality image without the need to crop. I don’t have the funds to purchase a 400-500mm telephoto so my 200mm will have to get me as close as I can get. The sharpness of the Fujinon lens combined with its Optical Image Stabilization allows for a sharp final image. If it wasn’t sharp after cropping this much it winds up in the trash. That’s my number one criteria for a keeper…

View original post 1 more word

Leave a Reply

